Hitting the Ground? Hit me with a shovel. Please.

Aaaaaaand, I’m back.  I really am sorry I’ve been MIA.  Life has been getting in the way.  I’m not here to give excuses, but I’m back and ready to hack on the True Blood episodes I love so much.  Where I last left off, I was hating on “It Hurts Me Too.”  That episode sits better with me, but not much.  I loved 9 Crimes and Trouble.  Perhaps that was the problem.  I thought they were great episodes so I had nothing to say.  So far my favourite episodes are “Beautifully Broken,” “9 Crimes” and “Trouble.”  This cannot be said for “I’ve Got A Right to Sing the Blues” and “Hitting the Ground.”  The only redeeming factors in episode 6 is Eric in that blue sweater, Franklin being deliciously insane, Talbot, and of course Lorena.  The rest was absolute shit.  Sookie NOT caring about fucking folder that Bill has been keeping on her?  Yeah, cause that’s normal boyfriend behaviour.  She’s so stupid.  In this week’s episode…ugh.

Before I start, I need to get something off my chest.  And this will be spoilery.  Don’t read if you don’t want to know “what” Sookie is.  In fact, I hate to not have you folks read this, but this whole post might ruin it for you.  You have been warned…  Alan Ball, really?  Really?  That faery shit?  Really?  That was the queerest shit I’ve seen on television and I use to watch Queer as Folk.  The fairies dancing in Babylon were less gay than that shit.  Fuck.  I hated the fae crap in the book since I thought it was lame, but this is taking it over the top.  Phew!  I’m glad I got that out of me.  Ok, on the rest of the episode.

We pick up where we last left off with Lorena feeding on Sook.  Lor gets distracted, AGAIN, and Bill gets the drop on her, AGAIN.  For being an old vamp, Lorena has the attention span of a fly.  Lor realizes it’s fruitless to struggle, tells William that she loves him, Sook stakes her and Lorena Krasiki becomes a blood geyser.  I was tres upset by this.  Lorena is barely in the books and the character Alan Ball created was brilliant.  I was hoping he was going to pull a Lafayette and keep her around but no.  He keeps that stupid Sookie around, but kills the best female character on the show.  Thank goodness for the flashback in next week’s episode.  Hopefully they will pull a Godric and she’ll continue to pop up in future seasons.  Ok, what’s with Sookie getting all the ridicuously lame lines?  “You wouldn’t know love if it kicked you in the FACE!”  Not believable and made me laugh/cringe.  Bill passes out.  End scene.  Alcide and Tara find Sookie sobbing over Bill’s body and she convinces them to help her take Bill out of there.  Debbie busts in on them, with a gun, and my favourite line is uttered, “Vampire burrito?”  I loved that they brought in the dialogue from the books into the show.  The “big green burrito” became “vampire burrito.”  Kudos to the writers.  I really felt for Debbie when she was arguing with Alcide.  He was right in saying that she loved him once.  Immediately after that she starts crying and saying that she would have done anything for him but he wouldn’t give her a baby.  Love can turn people craaazy and it seems that Alcide’s rejection turned Debbie into this V-crazed psycho.  Alcide managed to get the gun from Debbie and the girls get away.  Cooter loses his head (literally) and Debbie threatens Alcide, setting up the showdown between Sook and Debbie.  Oh Deb, you are going to lose that one.  From the promos, it looks like AB is going to follow the books on that one, but I wonder if Eric is going to be involved.

Next we see Sam doing his shifter shit.  I’m sorry, but I really hate his story lines.  Sam (and Sam Trammell) are great but they aren’t giving him (in my opinion) the greatest material to work with.  Last year was so much better even though it dealt with Mary-ann.  Jason’s brooding over Crystal (meth) and Hoyt’s bitten off more biscuits than he can chew with Summer.  Oooh, I cannot wait until there is a Summer/Jessica show down.  Our lil’ baby vamp is going to tell that pushy snot where she can stick her biscuits.  Pushy bitch.

Now comes my favourite scene from this episode.  Eric, looking panty-creaming in that blood splattered blue sweater, Hadley and QSA.  Eric knows something is up with QSA and her desire of Sook and he finally finds out why.  He drags a terrified Hadley I have no clue why she is terrified because if Eric Northman said was going to fuck drain me I’d be tickled pink.  But I guess Hadley does swing the other way to the Queen and feeds on her until she gives up the goods on Sook.  Eric rates Hadley as 3 stars.  Hadley is 3 stars but Sookie delicious.  I know they are only cousins, but interesting, non?  I think there is a big glaring plothole coming up but I’m going to leave it until the hospital scene.  Hadley gives Eric exactly what he wanted to her and he gives her his blood.  Interesting that he did that.  It’s another human tied to him, but seeing as it’s Sook’s cousin, I’m sure there is a reason for it.

Back to more shifter crap.  I don’t like the shifter stuff, but after reading an article on the dog fighting scene, I did appreciate it a bit more.  Here is the article.  It’s enlightening and heartbreaking at the same time.  We are then back to Sookie and Bill in the back to Alcide’s truck.  Brilliant Sookie tries to wake Bill up by feeding him her blood.  K, that was kind of smart of her part but the consequences were not.  As readers of the books will know, Bill loses his mind (after being tortured and starved) and goes to town on Sook.  It doesn’t end so badly in the books, but in this case he’s literally drained her within an inch of her life.  I felt bad for Sookie because the man she loves just about killed her while all she could do was pathetically tap her arm against him.  Tara, sensing something was wrong gets the back opened up and she finds Bill confused and a almost dead Sook.  She throws Bill out of the van and her and Alcide rush to the H.  They leave Bill to burn to a crisp but surprisingly he does nothing more than steam.  I find that a fascinating departure from the books.  What I didn’t find interesting was that after they drive off, Bill just stands there, kicks the dirt and says “damn.”  Buddy, you just literally sucked the life out of your girlfriend, the love of your life.  And all you have to say is damn?  Please.  At the hospital, Sookie is getting worked on and is given a blood transfusion.  The transfusion causes her to seize.  The doctor tells Tara and Alcide that the reason for her seizure was that Sook doesn’t have a blood type…the plot thickens.  Jason shows up to the hospital and he’s got a blood type.  Jason has a blood type, but Sookie doesn’t.  Hadley is 3 stars but Sookie is 5.  Interesting.  Now we have come to the super homo faery scene.  We’ve all seen it so I’m not going to go into too much detail.  The part that interested me was the end when the faeries were running away from the “darkness.”  If you’ve read the books, you get it why they are all running.  They are running from Bill showing up.  If you couldn’t guess from the super gayness of it, all these people are faeries and guess what, so is Sookie!  Vampires are very, VERY attracted to faery blood.  They are drawn to them like moths to a flame.  This is why every supe has asked Sookie, “what are you?”  They can tell since she’s got this other worldliness about her.  Since she’s only like a quarter fae it isn’t apparent, but they can tell she’s different.  And it follows since QSA in season 2 said that Sook wasn’t entirely human.  But I am a  little confused.  Was this a dream or did Sook enter into a higher plane of existence?  I’m thinking higher plane but I could be wrong.  All of this leads me to the plot hole I mentioned above.  Hadley, Sookie and Jason are all blood related.  Hadley is Sook and Jason’s cousin, but a blood relative none the less.  Hadley is 3 stars, but Sookie is fine dining.  Jason has a blood type, but Sookie doesn’t.  Wouldn’t it stand to reason that all 3 would have part of the faery blood?  Would it stand to reason that none of them would have a blood type and both Sook and Hadley would be delicious?  I wonder how they are going to cover that one.  Also, how does Hadley know what Sook is but Sook doesn’t?  Did QSA find out and tell Hadley or did Hadley tell the Queen?  Sets up the rest of the season and the series, non?

Last but not least. Russell, his engaged “puddin” QSA and Eric go back to Fangtasia to rescue Pam and to get the Magister to marry the royals.  Russ wants to marry SA to obtain Louisiana and to consolidate his power.  SA wants her IRS debt paid off.  Aaah, true love.  The Magister has had Pam locked up as a punishment to Eric for the V dealing in his area and Russ comes to save the day by cutting the Magister’s head off.  Another tragic death in True Blood.  Two of my favourite characters gone in one episode!!!  So unfair.

Next Sunday is episode 8, titles “Night on the Sun.”  It looks to be good.  Here is the synopsis: “Shaken and disillusioned, Sookie rethinks her relationship with Bill. Sophie-Anne takes up a new residence as Russell plots his next move. Jessica and Bill reconcile; Jason throws down the gauntlet in hopes of saving Crystal; Lafayette gets a surprise visit from his mom, Ruby Jean; Sam tries to keep Tommy in check; Merlotte’s gets a new waitress; Eric proves the depth of his allegiance to Russell. Sookie finds herself in a vulnerable position when Alcide needs to deal with a family emergency.”

I think that the “graphic scene” that we’ve heard about between Alexander Skarsgard and another male character happens in this episode.  My feeling is that the mystery man is Talbot and I think he’s going to bite it.  The synopsis for episode 9 reads that Russell is grief-stricken…doesn’t sound good for our favourite house boy!

Here is the trailer for Sunday’s episode.

This entry was posted in True Blood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hitting the Ground? Hit me with a shovel. Please.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Hitting the Ground? Hit me with a shovel. Please. | The Morning After Dark -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

